Tech Tuesday: ABC Music

Image

I have a four year old in my house, and I need to just face the fact: he is already more versed in technology than I am.  In a matter of weeks, I am sure he will be my social media person and keeping track of my online bill payments.  By the time he was two years old, he had figured out how to unlock the home screen on my iPhone, move icons around and delete things he didn’t find important.  And so in his wake, I would frantically have to learn how to RE-rearrange icons, UNdelete items and password protect my screen and photo collection.

Because of this, I am also constantly looking for high-quality, educational apps that will keep him occupied for his short amount of screen time every day.  Believe me…I have come across some duds and more than a few that weren’t worth the 99 cents I paid for them.  However, every once in awhile I find a good one – that both he and I find worthwhile.

Today’s app is actually one that he will peruse on his own, but also one that I find myself using every once in awhile during class.  It is called ABC Music: Little Explorers, by Peapod Labs.  It is a repertoire of musical instruments, categorized alphabetically with pictures, videos and/or interactive games for each selection.  The description on iTunes: Teaches children new words through sight, sound and touch.  Let them explore a world of pianos, violins, maracas and more through beautiful pictures, lively videos, and interactive scenes.

This is a good app for kids to use independently, or like I stated, to use when introducing group lessons, and appealing to all types of learners.  I like how it is wide-reaching, bringing in all different types of music, and cultural information.  It is $2.99 on iTunes, but money well-spent, in my opinion.  Anything that my preschooler and I can agree on…I’m down with that.

Happy Tuesday!

-A

Leave a Reply

Contact:

Amber Robinson musicformunchkins@ymail.com (403) 852-5837
Margaret A. Powers

Educator - Lower School Tech Coordinator - Consultant

Moving Smart

A fun, exciting and high quality music class for your littlest family member!

Miss Night's Marbles

A fun, exciting and high quality music class for your littlest family member!

Musical Child

The perfect place for you to learn how to teach preschool music

Strings, Keys and Melodies

A fun, exciting and high quality music class for your littlest family member!

Life, On Full

A fun, exciting and high quality music class for your littlest family member!

My Three Turkeys

Adoption, PCOS, Crafting, Life!!!

